Thankful

Standard

thankfulIt’s common at this point in the year for people to stop and take stock of all the blessings they have in their lives. This being a particulary trying year for me, it seems appropriate to look back at true, the many travails, but also the many things that I have to be thankful for.

So it was a tough year. I started the year feeling pretty “eh” about my job owing to the histrionics of some coworkers (including the creepy one that started cyberstalking me later in the year) and just general ennui about the state of my work. Early interviews didn’t yield anything that I felt strongly about taking on and then I was laid off in July. It was a really tough time.

But “from the ashes a fire shall be woken” (a quote from J.R.R. Tolkien). The day I was let go, I was contacted by a former colleague and it started the ball rolling on the job that I am now in. I’m pretty happy in my job and I feel really lucky that I was able to have this former colleague vouch for me and help me secure the role. The takeaway in this is the importance of being good to people.

Now, this probably sounds like me gloating, like “oooh, ooh, I’m so good and this is how I got ahead.” I don’t really feel this way. Throughout my unemployment period, when I would reach out to people for help, I felt really awkward and uncomfortable, like I was asking people to do things for me when in fact I had never done things for them. I felt like I hadn’t earned their kindness. The generosity was overwhelming with people saying to me that they believed in me and that they were happy to help. One guy, with whom I had only worked a short time, mentioned to me that he had always thought me very talented, a comment that really made my day.

I don’t always do the right thing. I am often self-centered and I have many areas of my personality, attitude and life that I need to continue to improve upon. So I guess, in this regard, what I’m thankful of is that people can overlook my missteps and be generous in their perceptions of me. And I guess the takeaway is that I need be and do the same.

Very quickly, I had to move out of my old apartment into a new place and by some marvel of serendipity and luck, I was able to secure the first apartment that I looked at just one day after accepting the new job. I have a great apartment and considering how expensive it is to live in the Bay Area, I pay comparatively very little in rent (thank Jesus for rent control!) Life is good. My favorite thing about my neighborhood is that I can run from my apartment to and through Golden Gate Park. Sometimes, when I’m running and life is just so good, I think: wow, I can’t believe this is my life. I really feel happy that things worked out.

And then just generally, I guess I feel thankful that I do have a good and solid life. I have a good family, good friends and though things aren’t perfect, I have the foundation for creating happiness in my life and hopefully, for creating happiness in the lives of those around me. I don’t know that I’m always successful at either but I know that I try. I know in the new year, I will have to continue to find ways to do both, with probably a heavier emphasis on the latter.

So that’s it from me for now. Probably won’t be posting for at least a week so Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

Leave a Reply

